THIS IS AN ADVERTISEMENT
Call now for your consultation
Our phones are answered 24/7
1-877-RING-MBK [877-746-4625] 1-877-RING-MBK [877-746-4625]

twitterfacebook

Client Testimonials

November 1, 2017

Mary Beth and Kathy are two individuals that I wish the world had more of.  I was treated with a sense of importance that made me feel as though I had someone in my corner.  From the ground up, this dynamic duo worked diligently to get me the best prospective outcome – one that I couldn’t even begin to hope for.  I could throw out adjectives all day on how to describe these two; cunning, thorough, professional, compassionate, etc.  I would highly recommend this law team to anyone who has made a mistake in their life and wishes to make the most of a bad situation. These two will get you on the road to putting the past behind you and moving on.

J.C.S.

February 23, 2016

After being denied parenting time, I began searching for an attorney to represent me. Not an easy task as I live in Pennsylvania but my son lives in Michigan. I came across Mary Beth’s website and was impressed by both her qualifications and reviews. Through phone calls and emails,the distance didn’t seem to have any negative effect, as she communicated often.  After making the 12 hour drive to review my case in person with her, my stress was relieved knowing Mary Beth was the correct choice.  In court she was professional and knowledgeable.  Not only did I get a favorable result, but Mary Beth followed up immediately to make sure I got to see my son that same day. I am so glad I decided to go with Mary Beth and Kathy.  They make a great team.

Daniel Boonie – Pennsylvania
March 11, 2015

Dear Mary Beth,
Thank you for a job well done.  I truly believe I was most fortunate to meet then hire you to represent me.  Thank you for caring enough to put in exhaustive hours and extreme effort into my case.  I think you saw right away the potential of my whole life being destroyed by another’s whim.  You conducted this case as if I were part of your family.  I will never forget.  Your strength, advice and support were impressive.  You were spot on and could see things in dimensions that were most critical.  Again, my sincerest thanks for everything.  I will strongly recommend you and your law firm.

I would also like to give Kathy Way a big thank you for her patience and help with the countless phone calls I made throughout the past several months.

Sincerest thanks,
Roger Clute


November 19, 2013

Dear Mary Beth & Kathy,
I wanted to express my sincere gratitude for the support and kindness you both showed me over the last couple months.  It was a very stressful & emotional time, and I am so thankful to have had such caring & intelligent women help me through it.  Your understanding & experience coupled with your ambition & efficiency truly make you a wonderful team.  Thank you for everything!
Client wishes to remain anonymous for privacy reasons.

November 4, 2013
I am very grateful for all the help I received from Mary Beth and her team.  I am currently serving in the United States Army and when I came home to see my family for vacation I found myself in a bad situation with the law.  I was referred to Mary Beth from a friend and could not be happier with the services she provided me.  I had to go back to my duty station in Louisiana and had to deal with everything over the phone or thru e-mail.  I thought this was going to be stressful and cause lots of problems.  It was not, it was as stress free as dealing with the legal system could be.  I received e-mails and updates every step of the way and never had any problems getting a hold of someone when I had a question.  I wish the military ran as smoot as she made this for me.  Thank you for all your help and support.
SPC Flynn, Kevin
Medic US Army

August 31, 2012
I was charged with hitting 3 vehicles, leaving the scene of an accident and reckless driving, I lost my license, didn’t show up for court, and went to jail in another state — None of that mattered. Mary Beth Kur got all my charges dropped, my bond refunded to me (even though it had been revoked by the court…) And I got my license back ! She works hard to win your case. This is the lawyer you want.
“E.H.”

October 5, 2011
Six months ago, my daughter found herself in trouble with the law. As a father, living in a different country, the entire ordeal was my worst nightmare confirmed! She had no family there, no stable living arrangement and no health and dental care. I contacted Mary Beth on a Saturday and much to my surprise and relief, she replied within an hour and laid out my options. By the following Monday morning, she had a strategy in place and proceeded to follow through. The process took six months (that’s just how the legal system works) and although I fretted and worried the entire time, I believe it would have been much worse had I not had Mary Beth providing me with comforting thoughts and her professional insights.
Just yesterday, my daughter was allowed to return home to me and the ordeal was over. I can tell you with absolute certainty that it was as if the weight of the world was lifted off my shoulders. Mary Beth’s handling of this case was completely professional and she got the result that I hoped for (and needed). This happened not a moment too soon as I brought my daughter to the hospital this very day, where she was diagnosed with a lung infection that I am pleased to report will dissipate with the antibiotics that she is now taking. I shudder to think how this would have played out had she been forced to stay there and not return home.
I will always be indebted to Mary Beth for the manner in which she helped myself and my daughter. I would recommend her services to anyone who is looking for a compassionate, professional, and absolute first-rate legal representative. For sure, I will never forget her.
G. A.
Ontario, Canada

February 2, 2011
Mary Beth and Kathy,
I want to say thanks for all your help and support as we navigated through our situation. You were always cheerful, positive and had all the answers or the suspected reply of the prosecuting attorney. You two helped us get through this with minimal worry about the outcome…which we were pleased with. I am glad we found you to represent us.
Thanks.
Mary and Billy Dietz

December 20, 2010
After working with Mary Beth Kur and her team I would highly recommend her services to everyone, especially young adults like myself who are very unfamiliar with the law! She was very persistent and understanding. Mary Beth was able to arrange appointments around my schedule as well as hers and her assistant Kathy was a great help as well! Kathy would answer any questions I had and if she didn’t know the answer she was on the phone with Mary Beth immediately. I appreciate what Mary Beth and her team have done and I am so grateful that she won my case so I can move on with my future plans without the burden of an Operating While Intoxicated hanging over my head. Thank you Mary Beth and team members for all you have done!!
20 Year old female from Boyne City MI

July 21, 2010
I would like to share my experience that I have had with the law firm of Mary Beth Kur, PLLC. As we all know, the interaction that a person experiences while involved with the judicial system can at times be very nerve racking and scary. Especially when you may be un-educated about the laws, sentencing guidelines and standard court procedures. With all that said, I can confidently state through my own experience that the Kur law firm was able to ease some of those overwhelming emotions by representing me with a knowledgable and aggressive courtroom presence. They also maintained a clear line of communication with me in regards to possible outcomes and or options available to the judge at sentencing. I feel that the Kur law firm can be distinguished as one of the best firms around in light of Mary Beth’s courtroom experience and her assistant Kathy’s attentive legal work. Coupled together, they make for a hard working, straight shooting, supportive law firm willing to assist clients in every way possible to help get you the best possible outcome for your particular case. Thus, I would highly recommend the Kur law firm to any of my close associates. It is a fact that the court system can often change a persons life dramatically and there is no room for error when choosing an attorney. You need the right attorney to represent you and your FUTURE! I was very pleased with Mary Beth and Kathy’s legal efforts.
J.B.

April 22, 2010
Mary Beth and her assistant stuck with my case for almost two years of a roller coaster ride. I was stuck up against a wall and was told allot of lies by my ex-husband. He had me living in constant fear. Mary Beth was able to discern through the scary threats and lies and helped me when no one else could. Mary Beth and her assistant Kathy were there for me through my divorce and custody proceedings. I was able to talk to Mary Beth & Kathy better then any of the other attorneys that could not help me. They really listened and got to work right away. The difference is that Mary Beth cares and she put her heart into the case. I highly recommend her because she retains information very well and cuts to the chase. She has a brilliant mind that I admire. She is determined, passionate, persistent, and presents information in a clear,concise and focused way. She did not give up when things appeared to be impossible. I am very thankful and grateful and pleased with the results of Mary Beth’s work.
Thank you Mary Beth for giving me my life back. I am on a much better path now, thanks to your dedication and winning my case. You are a rock star! It feels good to not be stuck up against a wall anymore.
Client wishes to remain anonymous for privacy reasons.

March 29, 2010
Well let me put it this way. The next time you wake up on your birthday, and by the end of the day you’ve been been charged with domestic violence, given divorce papers and had a P.P.O. slapped on you, call Mary Beth. that is what happened to me.
I can honestly say if it wasn’t for the compassion and understanding that both Mary Beth and her legal assistant Kathy had for my situation I would have self destructed long ago. Mary Beth and Kathy were a calming influence on me, when that’s what I needed most. Her legal expertise was right on . She knew what was best for me when there was nothing I would have loved more at the time then to force my ex-wife into sending thousands of dollars to finish the divorce. Mary Beth had the patience to give me time to come to my senses and the time to make the right decision not just for me but for my children too.
After the last 22 years I can’t even tell you what a relief it was to have two intelligent and beautiful women take the time to look me in the eyes when they’re talking to me. Yeah guys, they actually talked to me and not at me. I had almost forgotten what that was like.
In closing; Don’t trust your world to just any attorney. When the dust settles you’ll be happy and relieved to find Mary Beth and her team still standing in your corner.
M.E.
Petoskey, Michigan

October 24, 2009
Mary Beth,
I just wanted to let you know how happy I am with the way you handled my case in court yesterday. You were very professional and you were able to bring up several points and important questions that had to be asked and answered. I will recommend you to my friends
and family.
Thanks again,
Bruce Reid

March, 2009
I had charges of Identity Theft, Computer Crimes, Financial Transaction Fraud plus a Fugitive from Justice charge. I met Mary Beth Kur after being extradicted from my home, family and life in South Carolina. I traveled with an extradition team in in-humane conditions to Michigan from South Carolina for 5 days. I did not know anyone in Petoskey, Michigan. I arrived at the Emmet County jail on a Sunday evening exhausted and confused. My family had made arrangements with an attorney we did not know (Mary Beth) except my attorney in South Carolina had her found her through a small amount of research on the internet and liked her credentials. On Monday morning I met with Mary Beth Kur. Confused, I told her a short side of my issues. She looked at me and asked if I had any questions about her credentials. I immediately answered, “no.” While I was speaking to Mary Beth, she listened to what I had to say. I felt validated on my situation. I had no reservation about hiring her as my attorney. Even though I was from South Carolina, she had no issue dealing with me nor my family. Mary Beth was very honest with me. I never had to guess what the process of my case was going to be and how the Michigan court system worked.
This was a very stressful situation for me and my family. Mary Beth and her assistant Kathy gave me great confidence. They made me feel I would get through my situation with no problem and it allowed me to relax knowing I had them on my team. Her professionalism and composure reassured me in her ability. This gave me piece of mind. As I had my preliminary hearing on February 4, 2009, Mary Beth fought for me to be released from jail. Between South Carolina and Michigan, I had a total of 58 days spent in custody/jail. Mary Beth was able to get me released on a personal recognizance bond and I was able to go HOME.
Mary Beth and her team bring extensive experience to the table. She knows the people in Petoskey and surrounding areas that can assist in helping with the courts due to the respect she has in the area. All of the extra things that Mary Beth and Kathy, her assistant do makes a difference with the legal questions and understanding the court systems that you will not get from any other attorney I know. Mary Beth’s knowledge, professionalism and expertise in criminal law was truly evident. You cannot do better than Mary Beth Kur. On March 4, 2009 my charges were dismissed. Mary Beth Kur had literally given me my life back. I cannot say thank you enough.
Kelly Pruitt Stone

November, 2008
I had my children taken away from me for almost two years after being a full time mother to them for the majority of their lives. This all stemmed from false accusations made by my ex-boyfriend, which caused me, newly pregnant, to be charged with felonious assault. Although I was able to have the charges brought down to domestic violence and they were later dismissed, I continued to live without my 3 beautiful daughters for 1 1/2 years, enjoying only a few hours of supervised visitation with them every week. The lawyer I had at the time was devastatingly incompetent. Most of the time I felt hopeless, helpless and entirely alone. When I gave birth to my son, I explained my situation to social services and was blessed with a referral from Jay Higgins to Mary Beth Kur. Things finally started to move forward. In fact, as soon as Mary Beth took on my case, I was able to have the supervision lifted and parenting time expanded. Mary Beth was very aggressive in getting my case resolved. She and her legal secretary were compassionate and understanding. They were accessible to me when I needed them. She was awesome in court and finally I knew that someone was really working on my side. After having everything I had to live for taken away for such a long time, I now have full custody of my children again. I cannot express how very grateful I am to have had Mary Beth Kur as my attorney. I highly recommend her. Without her passionate representation there is a good chance that I would still be without my children to this day.
Sincerely,
K.A.D. of Petoskey, Michigan

October, 2008
Having retained attorneys in my past and having many free consultations I finally found an attorney that actually knows the justice system, in and out, that has also been a former Prosecutor for Genesee County and Charlevoix County and that actually cares what goes on with people’s lives and will go all out to take the time to consider all sides and be courteous to my situations…to defend me with what is right and have the justice system grant what I wanted. That is a blessing to me and my family. I would wholeheartedly recommend Mary Beth Kur and her law office staff to anyone looking for excellent legal services.
Sincerely,
Todd D. Richards, Boyne City, Michigan

 

PictureSeptember, 2008
From the second Kathy greeted my son and me at Mary Beth’s office until the day of his sentencing, we never once felt like we were “bad’ people nor was he made to feel that he was a criminal…(the myth that one is “innocent until proven guilty” does not hold true in this town). We were treated with respect, great compassion and were given very honest and straight forward communication. We were very pleased with the outcome and with how quickly things were settled.
I would wholeheartedly recommend Mary Beth; the experience we had has restored my faith in a system where “justice for all” seemed to be an illusion.
MMW
Petoskey, Michigan
June, 2008
My brother and I found ourselves in a very tricky family situation where our much younger sister was at risk of serious harm in our mother’s house. We exhausted every option trying to solve the problem ourselves and then through the Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS). DHS ignored us at every turn. It was one of those cases where a child just falls through the cracks and you feel like the world has conspired against you.
We needed a lawyer we could trust to take this case to court that not only knew the courts in Charlevoix County, Michigan, but who could also keep up and see through one of the most dysfunctional family situations that the court had ever seen. Mary Beth took our case and I don’t know what would have happened if she hadn’t. She’s the best lawyer in Northern Michigan.
We ended up having to go to trial and Mary Beth was amazing. She was prepared and took no prisoners. There were so many people involved and the stakes were very high. She caught people in their lies and uncovered the truth. She helped the jury follow a very complicated timeline and the people involved. She also impressed the jury. It’s important to have a lawyer that they can like and it’s hard not to like her. She is a real spit fire. I can’t say enough about her and what she stands for. Don’t think about it. Hire Mary Beth Kur.
Sincerely,
C.L. – Harbor Springs, MichiganSeptember 30, 2007
After my college student son was arrested and booked on charges of Operating While Intoxicated and Presenting False I.D., I really thought his very existence was threatened along with a significant financial strain for the family. We were from suburban Detroit and did not know how to proceed.
We were luckily referred to Mary Beth Kur. Her ability with the legal system, sorting relevant facts, and extending openness with my son allowed for a successful strategy which ultimately reduced my son?s burden notably. I appreciated the e-mail service with Mary Beth and her support team which allowed us to keep informed on the developments and documentation.
I would recommend Mary Beth Kur to anyone !
Steve H.
West Bloomfield

August 28, 2007
Mary Beth Kur took me through my divorce with a high degree of integrity and compassion and for that I am grateful. She is down to earth and straightforward in her speech and her delivery gave me an in depth understanding of the law. I found her by chance. I hope you will contact her in light of this recommendation. I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone seeking a divorce.
Patricia L. Shaffer, Harbor Springs, Michigan

August, 2007
In May of this year, I made a poor decision and found myself on the receiving end of our justice system; yeah, I spent some time in jail. I made a mistake and knew I would need to deal with the consequences; additional jail time, fines, fees, etc. This occurred in Charlevoix County, over 200 miles from home. Needless to say, I needed assistance from someone who was familiar with the process and had contacts in the immediate area. After making a few calls, I quickly decided Mary Beth was right for me. My request to Mary Beth was to move quickly through the process and negotiate to lesson the severity of any penalties. Working closely with the Prosecutor, she presented my case to my benefit. In addition to minimizing the number of times I was required to be present in Charlevoix County, Mary Beth was instrumental in helping me obtain a transfer closer to my home/work location. This transfer enabled me to take advantage of work release, granted by the court. I was a candidate for significant jail time and probation that may have led to loss of employment, not to mention impact to personal assets. Mary Beth was effective in ensuring that I was given a fair outcome. Total time to get this handled was less than seven weeks. Mary Beth works fast, effective and gets results. I owe gratitude to Mary Beth for her professionalism, her understanding and personable approach. Mary Beth is patient, knowledgeable, influential, and most importantly, works hard for her client(s). Spend some time looking at her website or other advertisements she maintains; there is no fluff here. Better yet, make the call. Mary Beth (and her office team) has a top shelf game. Mary Beth Kur made a difference for me and she’ll do the same for you.
…from Grand Blanc, Michigan

July 26, 2007
WHEN TROUBLE CAME KNOCKING
On May 14, 2007, trouble came a knockin’ in my direction and I found myself sitting in the Charlevoix County Jail. Had to call a few friends to make the bail and ask around about getting a good criminal defense attorney.
All seemed to agree and I soon retained Mary Beth Kur to defend me against a trumped-up charge from an irate ex-girl friend. Everyone said she’s a real “tiger”, if she accepts your case you’ll be getting one of the best.
My case went all the way through a jury trial. Mary Beth guided me all the way, and gave great support when I felt beaten down. And best of all, the jury said “not guilty”.
Mary Beth is not just another “hard charger”, she does her home work and comes in well prepared.
Thanks Mary Beth ! !
J. D. S.
Charlevoix, Michigan

May, 2007
Recently I was on a road trip with a friend. After a couple weeks of driving we found ourselves far from home and facing some trouble. We were unfamiliar with the laws of the area and their consequences and it felt like home was farther and farther away. The police were not much help as they would not give me direct answers and seemed to foster false hopes that were repeatedly crushed. Mary Beth was the first person I talked to that was completely up front with me about what I was facing, and she somehow was able to soothe my nerves at the same time. Her knowledge of the laws and her familiarity with the system created possibilities where I had seen none. Mary Beth was able to get me a great deal that had me safe at home before I could even really register what had happened. Every time I think about it I can’t believe that I am actually home and done with it. I owe it all to Mary Beth and send her endless gratitude. I would definately recommend her services, as I know I would not be here at home were it not for her.The experience of being in jail and of facing charges for the first time was horrible. Mary Beth’s capability in the situation, and equally important, her friendliness helped me through the intense time.
K.S.
Santa Barbara, California

In January of 2005 I obtained the services of Mary Beth Kur to represent me in my divorce case. The most important thing was that my children remained with me; being a male made this a challenge. Mary Beth listened to my concerns and because of her experience and attention to detail I was able to keep custody of my children.
She went above and beyond the courtroom. She kept me updated on any changes or progress in my case and was always available if I had any questions or concerns. I always felt secure and confident, knowing she would do her best for me. I believe her extensive knowledge of the law and her professionalism were the key components to the success of my case.
It is truly an honor to be able to recommend Mary Beth Kur.
John E. McLean Jr.
USCG (Retired)

Dear Mary Beth Kur, 11/29/2006
This letter is to let you know how thankful I am that in light of the current political situation in our country concerning civil rights (and the erosion thereof), you agreed to represent me on my case that involved what seemed to me a clear violation of my 4th Amendment rights. You did an outstanding job of proving my case in court and sent a clear message to law enforcement that it is NOT OK to violate the 4th Amendment. The fact that you believed in me and my case helped me get through a very stressful time. Because of this I will forever be grateful to you and will recommend you highly to anyone in need of the services of an Attorney.
Respectfully,
Florencio A. Beltran

I feel honored and privileged to have Mary Beth Kur as my attorney. She represented me in my divorce case. She is honest, fair and ethical. I was always kept informed of what I needed to do in preparation for the court dates. In the courtroom, her knowledge, professionalism, but above all else, her integrity was very comforting at such a stressful time in my life. It is a pleasure to have been asked to recommend Mary Beth. I would never hesitate to engage her services if needed in the future.
Client wishes to remain anonymous to protect personal privacy, but is willing to give a reference on a one on one basis, upon request.

When it comes to fighting for someone or something that means the world to you, it’s so important to have a fiercely competent advocate by your side. Mary Beth Kur has been my advocate. The depth of Mary Beth’s knowledge of the law, experience as an attorney, and acumen in connection with the technical issues presented in my Divorce was invaluable to my case.
Her enthusiastic command of my case and constant flow of information and encouragement was the perfect antidote to my flagging resolve. Many professionals “hide” behind their staff but Mary Beth made herself readily available to speak to me. She kept the faith when I wavered, and stood by my side through some of the most difficult moments of my life. Mary Beth is largely responsible for making some room in my life for serenity.
I absolutely recommend Mary Beth Kur to anyone in need of an experienced, committed and victory-driven attorney.
Mary P., Boyne City

I hired Mary Beth to represent me in my Divorce case just recently (late 2006) and I was so happy that I did! She not only knew the law, but she was also sensitive to my case and involved and truly cared. She knew that keeping custody of my children was the most important thing to me and we got exactly that result! She was available to talk when I needed her and her staff is exceptional as well to deal with. I could not have chosen a better attorney! I would recommend her to anyone out there seeking a great lawyer that gets the job done with integrity and professionalism and sensitivity to each case. My family and I felt completely comfortable with all her decisions and steps to take and she was very informative and prepared. Thank you so much Mary Beth!
Kari Riegel of St. Ignace

I was served with a law suit by my mother early in 2006. I had never been involved in a law suit before, and I had no idea what to do. I tried doing things on my own in the beginning, but I was in over my head. I consulted a few attorneys, and was not impressed by their lack of aggression in getting this completely frivolous suit thrown out. It was suggested to me that I contact Mary Beth Kur, and it was the best decision I could have made. Ms. Kur was compassionate, pursued this case vigorously, and the outcome was in my favor. This was one of the worst things that I have ever been faced with, but there is no one else that I would rather have had in my corner. Thank you Mary Beth!
Mary Harter

I retained the services of Mary Beth in January of 06 to represent me in my divorce case. In my opinion it was the right decision. I needed someone who would represent me not as just another case but would give me the attention as if I were her only case. She has always kept me informed of the situation, and has been available to answer my questions. If knowledgeable, compassionate and professional are what you seek in an attorney then I would recommend Mary Beth Kur. She will stand by you, and get results.
Respectfully,
A.K. Smith